Some people today believe that it is acceptable to use physical force to discipline children, but others feel it is completely unacceptable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Parents believe that discipline is most important to the development of children. However, opinions are divided on the use of physical force to discipline children. Voices in favor believe that the use of physical force on children yields results quickly. Its basic human nature that if by doing something causes you pain, you may not do that again. This also applies to the use of physical force to discipline children, because the pain caused by the physical force immediately imprints on the child's mind. For instance, if a child is caught stealing and by the use of physical force, would immediately imprint on to his or her mind that stealing is bad and if I do it again, I would be in pain again. The downside to this approach is that the child may get hurt physically during the process. However, those not in favor believe that the mental damage cause by the use of physical force is much more severe. Trust issues develop between the children and the guardian. Children no longer share their problems with their guardians because the fear of persecution drives them away. For instance, a child being bullied at school will not share that experience with their guardian, because the guardian may use physical force. This fear also create future relationship issues between the guardian and the child. For example, the child may not longer feel compelled to visit and spend time with their parents, because the memory and pain of the physical force is still imprinted in their mind. To conclude, discipline is important, however we must also teach children to respect their guardians. Therefore, in my opinion the use of physical force is unwarranted. We must use alternative means to discipline children.