Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many artificial juices and snacks contain a huge amount of sugar in it, which ultimately leads to various health disorders. I agree with the statement that such high-calorie products should be made out of reach of the general public to improve their health. These high-sugar food products have a number of disastrous effects on health. Firstly, they cause poor dental hygiene because they contain carbonic acid and this erodes the protective calcium barrier of the teeth. Secondly, these sugary beverages are a leading cause of diabetes. They cause disruption in the utilization of insulin and cause insulin resistance which leads to type 2 diabetes. For example, a lot of my immediate family members suffer from this disease because of poor dietary habits. Finally, these high-calorie snacks lead to Obesity, which causes other long-term health problems, such as heart diseases, blood pressure and overall decline of physical and mental health. The government should take various steps to discourage the public from using these high-calorie drinks and foodstuff which have no real nutritional benefit. The officials could increase the tax on such items to reduce their intake. They could run general awareness campaigns to spread awareness among the common people. For instance, they could use social media, YouTube videos and articles. The ruling offices could ensure that restaurants provide alternatives to these beverages. For example, they could replace juice and fizzy drinks with water or flavoured water. In conclusion, I would like to say that the Government should hike the prices of manufactured snacks with an excess of sugar and calories to encourage the population to stop their use.