Many cities use parks and farmland to build houses, is it a positive or negative development?

There is a trend that many cities are going to use buildings to replace farmlands and parks. From my perspective, I hold a negative view that the drawbacks are overweight the positive effects. On the one hand, it is doubtless that constructing more buildings will have some benefits. With the building of apartments, cities can contain more residents and provide a comfortable place for them to live. For example, the Chinese government built numerous apartments which can be rented at the lowest price. It can encourage more people to settle down in the city and create more job opportunities, which is beneficial to economic development. On the other hand, however, I believe these benefits are overweight by problems. Firstly, a decrease in the park area will lead to environmental problems. Trees can purify pollution and absorb greenhouse gases, without enough trees in a city, it will increase the risks of citizens getting illnesses such as coughing and lung diseases. That means more money will be spent on healthcare and people will tend to leave the city. Moreover, the drop in farmlands area might be harmful to the agriculture industry. Without enough places to plant foods and vegetables, the price of agricultural products may increase. Citizens need to spend more money to maintain their daily life, this tendency might lead to social unrest, which is a serious problem for a country. In conclusion, although building more buildings using parks and farmland will have some benefits for citizens, the drawbacks are more significant, which will be harmful in both environmental and social aspects.