People have different views on how to reduce traffic congestion. Some think that governments should build more train and subway lines, while others think that building more roads and widening existing roads will reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a public debate today as to transportation. Some argue that governments have a duty to construct more public railways and underground transport, but others set forth a totally different argument about the issue of setting up more routes for specialized vehicles and rebuilding the significant highway to truncate traffic jams. In this essay, both perspectives will be discussed followed by my opinion. On the one hand, building more train and subway lines is mainstream in developed countries, this can reduce almost all the problems related to commuting such as accidents and congestion. Moreover, this can also reduce the emission of carbon dioxide and sew up the ozone layer. In addition, the railway has a limited high speed of about 300 kilometers per hour equal to aircraft, this can diminish travel time for citizens in the metropolitan and have a safer journey than moving from place to place on the ground. For example, many developed countries such as the United States of America, Japan, and China have already applied public railway vehicles to vital traffic systems, so that people with low-end meet can travel easier by these public means of transport. Thus, this method will be the trend for residents in the future. On the other hand, although the population density of enormous cities is increasing dramatically, due to the fact that residents still want to have their own means of transport for themselves, that will lead to the plenty of vehicles and major sources of congestion in traffic. For instance, the main routes in giant cities may be overcrowded at peak time and that will be hazardous for citizens traveling at that time, therefore the government should construct more new roads, overpass and widen all the crucial routes to reduce traffic congestion easier. In conclusion, the government can make a choice to build more roads or railways; these methods of equality bring a positive signal of reducing traffic jams. Personally, I stand on the side of building more railways and subways because it is the most common and effective trend in the world.