many businesses today are run by family members. Do the advantages of a family-run business outweigh the disadvantages?

Family businesses are majorly functioned by the members of the family. In this essay we will discuss the advantages like family dedication and the pressure to keep the family name intact, We may also discuss the disadvantages like partial treatment and limited expansion as a part of the demerits. In my opinion, we will see the disadvantages outweighing the advantages while operating a family business. A family business is majorly operated by the immediate members of the family, there is a long said history of its inception which is a matter of pride to its family members. As a, result there is no compromise on dedication and hard work input by the members of the family. For example, an outsider may not understand the struggles and success stories of the company in comparison to a blood relative. Also, the brand name is closely associated with the family's values and vision. The success of the company is closely associated with the pride of the family & every member works hard to elevate their performance ensuring the brand name is recognised in the market. For instance, The Ambanis have named their company after their last name, this is surely a matter of pride for them. Likewise, many family businesses are named fathers and sons companies to give them a sense of belonging and recognition. On the other hand, we may witness a number of demerits while running a family business, there may be a biased selection of family members while appointing a head to the department. For instance, a family relative may be less deserving and might not have the right knowledge or acumen to run the department but is given an opportunity since he is the youngest son in the family. Also, the members of the family may carry a limited vision for expansion as all the members of the family think in a similar direction to success and growth, on the other hand, an outsider may bring more to the table with the current experience and knowledge he or she may carry from his experience which may be more promising to the growth and development of the company. To summarize, there are no qualms to the dedication and hard work family members may input into the business but a company cannot run by mere emotions it needs the right skill sets and experience to perform and stand against the competitive market.