Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that impediments of social and practical matters when living abroad can be caused by the obligatory usage of local language. From my perspective, the statement above is absolutely true, as even though you could know the language flawlessly, language barrier can appear in stressful situations, resulting in very serious misleadings. First of all, getting a job could be a lot more complicated as competing for the same position is much bothersome with someone that has used a given language his whole life than with a person that has not. It is in an employer's business to hire the best candidate and knowing perfectly mandatory language is one of the greatest amenities that one can have. Thus, that could result in getting a much worse job than you would get in your homeland. Secondly, your relations with other local people would not be as good as if you used your first language. Moreover your accent or mispronunciations could bring along many misunderstandings. Mastering a language is one thing but having a good accent is another. For instance, two words can be written very similarly but spelled much differently, –40minut– when learning the language, especially when someone does it by themselves, you could be unaware of a right pronunciation, therefore say that as a completely disparate word. Also, using a foreign language can take away from you gigantically important values that you have in your native language, when it comes to interpersonal relations such as great sense of humour or being quick-witted. In conclusion, speaking other language than your first one, can make finding work enormously harder and can complicate getting along with others.