It is observed that in many countries not enough students choose to study science at university. What are the causes and what will be effects on society?

It is noticed that numerous students dislike science as a subject in university. This essay highlights the factors responsible for such conduct among scholars and its repercussion on the community. The primary cause of avoiding science is the usage of heavy terms in the subject which makes it difficult for a teenager to digest. Biological jargons, chemical compounds and physical measurements are usually laborious which makes the course repugnant. For instance, according to a survey, 43 out of 60 students from Cambridge University failed in science due to their inefficiency in recalling tough words in a chapter. Hence, working with science seems a tedious task to a lot of scholars due to its exhausting names. Another reason for such ignorance is that learners consider science to be a boring topic. Often this behaviour is an outcome of inadequate teaching methods used by the educator. For example, it was found in a study that science is the most uninteresting field for the majority of pupils. Thus, the dullness of the subject acts as a drawback to learning it. The reserved demeanour of not studying science has led to unawareness among students regarding certain scientific processes such as reproduction, biological functioning of the body, astronomical events and many more. This lack of knowledge results in superstitious conduct by society. To illustrate, countless people believe that shooting stars indicate misfortune. Therefore, neglecting science as a part of the curriculum produces adverse effects on the general awareness of the future generation. To conclude, pupils run away from science due to its boredom as well as the mental burden that it lends. However, this scenario can be improved by teaching them the importance of the subject.