Some people think that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as television, friends, and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

A child’s growth is majorly influenced by many factors. Some believe that quite a lot of influence has been created by media and social circles whereas others say, that the involvement of family members remains superior above all. This essay agrees with the latter part and would show that despite, social media being accessible to everyone, the parents are more important. Children nowadays have quick access to different forms of media, which includes television, music, and friends. They spend plenty of school time with these things around which impact their upbringing. For example, a lot of young ones improve their sports skills, while playing with their friends. On the other hand, it could not be neglected that peer pressure can lead to bad behavior like smoking, drinking, etc. This is why the impact of external factors should not be given more priority However, parents are the most essential factor, as children are under the supervision of their parents most of the time. Parents mostly are more concerned about learning which aids in their development as it is easily visible that dysfunctional families who have their issues often create behavior issues in their children. For instance, according to the UK government, teenagers who spend more time with their family members lead to becoming better students on their educational journey. This shows that the impact of the family on child development is an essential factor. In conclusion, external factors may play a vital role in the upbringing of children, as they can have various types of aspects. Therefore, it is proven that parents remain an important factor in their growth and they should not be neglected by them.