In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is conventional to see plastic containers being used at majority of places, especially by companies involved in the manufacture of food and drinks. In my view, the benefits of using plastic containers by these enterprises outweigh the drawbacks. Those who regard the promotion of plastic as troublesome base their the argument around environmental pollution. They contend that people use the plastic containers once and then throw them away, which pollute land and water. Moreover, the decomposition of plastic takes exceptionally long, leading to a pile of the garbage while government has to dole out huge funds out of the national exchequer to tackle this problem. Further, it is a direct source of sundry health hassles being faced by the consumers. For example, the plastic the packaging material used by the food items to contaminate the eatables which then enter the human body and become the reason for various illnesses. On the contrary, there are plenty of merits to using plastic containers in the production of drinks and food. First, plastic is less bulky than other materials, so the storage and transportation become effortless. Consequently, the final cost of delivering the refreshments to consumers turn out to be significantly lower which escalates the profit margin. Besides, plastic has now found a new use in manufacture of smartphones and construction of roads which remedies the quandary of surging pollution due to plastic use. For instance, material from waste plastic bottles has been used in the manufacturing of iPhone 13 which not only makes this device cheaper, but also removes the stigma associated with plastic being a hazard to the ecology. In conclusion, the advantage of an economical provision of food and drinks to people due to plastic packaging overshadowing all the disadvantages associated with it. Hence, I believe that it is wise for the industries to use this material in containers.