Some people think that the government should provide funding for arts. Others,

however, believe that the money should be spent on public health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. People are divided on government financing arts. Some people believe the government should finance the arts, but others think that the money would be better spent on healthcare and education. I personally believe that the government must give at least some funding to art. First of all, art is a crucial part of cultural education. There are many paintings and sculptures that have a historical background. Looking at them we can better understand how people lived in the past, and what they believed in. In some paintings, there can be found hidden messages that depict cultural, political and religious movements. In addition, government financing can help new artists. For beginner artists who don't have any popularity, it can be hard to get recognition. Fewer people would be willing to go into artistic careers for fear of not having enough money to survive and we could potentially miss out on talented inspiring people. In modern society, the general public works nine to five jobs in offices and art can be their escape into a more colorful world. Many people listen to music while commuting or watch movies and plays in their free time and without artists that wouldn’t be possible. Funding art can help spread knowledge and open up more career possibilities. However, basic human needs should come above everything. It's more important to keep people alive than to make them happy. The deceased can't enjoy art. People should get free healthcare when they need it. Education is also important, art can play a part in that. Every society needs healthy, intelligent people to thrive. To conclude, people might have divided opinions, but art, health and education need each other. Government should give funding to funding to art, but it must not be at the expense of healthcare and education.