Some people say that distance learning is a quick and effective way to study. Others, however, disagree and say that distance learning programs can never be as good as courses taken in person. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Distance learning programs have become a very popular option for many students these days. However, it does not match the tacit learning benefits and networks that students build through in person learning. Even though distance learning programs are trying to overcome the gap that exists through monthly meetups, it is proving to be insufficient. Distance learning might be a good way to study to develop basic understanding regarding a subject, but is insufficient for inculcating an advanced and practical understanding of most concepts. While you may study a topic like economics, complete assignments and give exams. The lively discussion that happens around any topic in a classroom is an integral part of developing a nuanced and holistic understanding of the material. Thereby, even though you may know all the facts regarding a subject, the ability to practically apply the knowledge is gained only through engaging the concepts through case studies and accomodating disparate viewpoints. Distance learning methods currently lack processes which deal with these shortcomings. In person learning also provides real-time interaction with the faculty, compared to offerings available through distance learning programs. It is of utmost importance, that students engage with the faculty to gain the benefits of tacit learning. Most learning is not set in stone and learning to how re-learn existing concepts is the need of the hour. Consequently, the process through which knowledge is updated is an art. Learning this skill is not easy and developing a mindset that evolves as the facts change is a very hard task. Concluding the above arguments, while distance learning programs do provide some utility to students. It cannot be equated to the learning that happens, though in class learning. In class learning provides a deeper and complex grasp of the subject material, which distance learning programs are yet to replicate sufficiently. Thereby, distance learning cannot be as good as in person learning programs.