The number of older people is increasing. Some people think it will cause the problm to their countries, others believe this group is important to society. Both views

The elderly population is increasing day by day. While a certain section of society thinks that the countries will suffer because of this trend, others opine that the role played by them in the community is far greater and there is no need to take the increase seriously. In the coming paragraphs, I will discuss both viewpoints and provide my opinion. Some regions today are worrying about the growth in the number of senior citizens as it will affect their security and financial health. For example, youth form nearly 80% of defence personnel in countries like India and need more youngsters than oldsters to protect the borders. Moreover, a high number of elders require more old age homes which will burden the countries financially. Hence, an increase in the count of older people is a reason to worry. On the other hand, some people opine that the older generation plays an important role socially. According to them, the vast experience gained by elders along with the family values that they bring is crucial. For instance, even today there are several professions such as doctors and teachers that require experienced individuals, and higher experience means greater value. In addition to this, this group believes that they are essential to impart family values to children as the younger parents are quite busy with their work commitments. Thus, the older lot plays a vital role in society and an increase in their numbers cannot be a disadvantage. To summarize, we see that the count of elders is growing continuously. Although some see this as a concerning development that can have adverse effects on economies, others are of the view that there is no reason to worry due to the benefits that they bring to society. I strongly believe that they are required for sustaining family values, the vast experience they bring cannot be substituted, and as long as the number of youth remains constant, there is no need to panic.