It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you think it is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

The increasing number of offence caused by teenagers have been one of the most pressing issues in our society. Some debate that the aggressive behaviours in the TV and social media. that teens watch might be the biggest contributor. However, I do not think the media is the main reason behind these crimes. In this essay, I will explain why and suggest possible remedies to combat this issue. The major reason for the crimes committed by young offenders, in my view, may vary depending on their situation. Although the effects of media can be one of the causes, the fundamental causes might be their families, financial issues or their mental health. For example, the majority of young criminals in Colombia are from single parents. I believe each teen has their own deep-rooted struggles that we do not fully understand, and neither do they. In addition, they might not aware of the results of their illegal actions as well as how to change their situations. To combat this issue, each offender will need a tailored treatment so that the causes are solved effectively. Even though some might argue that only a heavy punishment could be the answer, it might cause a reverse effect by making them feel frustrated and stigmatized. Therefore, in my opinion, communities need to be involved instead of the police to guide the children to get support and help from therapists, social workers, and organizations. In conclusion, Even though some teenagers might be affected by violent videos from images or videos, their actions could be influenced by a wide range of personal reasons. For the solutions, these young people need to get different types of solutions, such as financial support, consultations, a shelter from abusive parents, depending on their situations.