Older people often choose to spend money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

The trend of spending retirement benefits by the older generation has changed significantly in recent years. They have started to make plans for vacations by consuming their savings instead of giving this amount to their heirs. In my opinion, I believe this is a positive development as they can spend a part of their income on their children, rest of the money must be spent on their own recreational activities for some reasons that I will explain in this essay. On the one hand, the old generation spends all their life earning and saving money for their retirement so it is their right to think about the actual use of whole savings. Provided that they invest this money in governmental schemes for gaining profits, it will further secure their future. They could use this money for further leisure visits. For example, they could enjoy more than one world tour, if they would have more money to spend. In addition, sometimes old individuals have spare time to perform their favourite activities only at late age as they had worked hard throughout their life to fulfil the basic requirements of their families. Thus, both time and financial resources can be used in retired years of life for entertainment, which is also beneficial to health. However, it is also argued that in order to succeed in life, offsprings often need not only moral but also financial support from their guardians. This is because parents are often more experienced compared to children and have more money to try a new business. In this way, they can build careers for their heirs by putting effort. Despite these concerns being relatively valid, I believe that adolescents must take the responsibility for their career growth. Due to this, they would become more confident which will be helpful in building their future life. In conclusion, the phenomenon of giving financial resources to the young generation from older people has changed a lot. Now they want to use these assets on themselves by enjoying outdoor holidays. In my perspective, I am convinced that in this way children can become independent, which is important for their development as parents have already played a role in rearing their children.