In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave during the first month after the birth of the newborn. Do you think the advantages of maternity leave outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying fact that the phenomenon of maternity leave is ubiquitous across the globe due to its paramount importance. One school of thought opines that it is worthiness, however, the other considers that a couple of problems also occur because of the same. Although they have a plethora of merits yet numerous demerits are also there which will be elaborated on in the upcoming paragraphs. Initiating with the best possible benefits, the most significant advantage is that they get plenty of time to nurture their newborn babies. In other words, they can take care of their infants as well as women also get time to take rest. Along with it, working females also get extra remuneration in terms of special allowances. As a result, these financial perks help them to enjoy happiness. To cite an example, In many companies there are certain maternity allowances which can be availed after taking one month off from the office and they get the amount depending upon their basic pay. On the paradoxical side, there are many drawbacks as well. Firstly, It affects the work of the organization. Subsequently, it further burdens the employer because they have to pay the employee without performing their regular tasks. Secondly, It also reduces the work efficiency when the woman joins their station after availing leave. To illustrate it, women become reluctant to perform their routine work with full dedication. Thus, it badly affects productivity. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that despite having some shortcomings, it has enormous positives which are far more than its negatives. Hence, it is evident that the advantages of maternity leave outweigh the disadvantages.