Many people around the world spend the majority of their free time at home watching TV shows. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

All over the world, many individuals use most of their spare time at home watching television programmes. The advantages of this situation are that they save money and don’t need to make plans, whereas the disadvantages are that they aren’t healthy and don’t feel a sense of accomplishment. The first benefit is that these people save more money than those who have other hobbies. Most hobbies involve membership or entrance fees that must be paid regularly, whereas watching television is comparatively cheaper and rarely requires any additional payments after the initial purchase of the TV set. Another key advantage is that those who primarily watch TV to pass the time don’t need to make plans. Many free time activities are done with other people, and it can often be difficult and tiresome to coordinate with others. On the other hand, poor health is a disadvantage for those who spend most of their leisure time at home watching television. Compared to people who have active hobbies, those who watch TV get little exercise and when this continues over a long period, their health deteriorates. Furthermore, there is the additional drawback of gaining no sense of accomplishment from watching TV. In comparison to the individuals who enjoy the experience of completing a craft project or spending time at the gym, the people at home watching television have little or no sense of achievement. In conclusion, anyone who watches televisions as their primary means of passing the time has the advantage of saving money and not being required to make plans in advance of their free time. However, they do have the disadvantages of not being healthy, and they tend not to have any sense of accomplishment from their hobby.