Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbles and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this Information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is a usual procedure to share personal information like hobbies and interests, and their marital status while applying for a job vacancy. Some people believe that this data may be useful whereas others think it is irrelevant. It can be beneficial in case of any emergency and also able to understand their interests to motivate them once they got hired whereas it argued that there should be some privacy of their personal details. Firstly,getting the personal data from the candidate will help the employer to contact their family in case of any emergency. For instance,when the person is met with any accident or illness, the HR department can immediately contact their family members. Moreover, knowing the hobbies and interests can help the employer to give some gifts which they like most. For example, many multinational companies provide movie tickets to their employees on their birthdays. This motivates them to a great extent. However, some people argued that this is irrelevant to the fact that it is up to the person whether they need to disclose their personal information while applying for a job. Also, there is no point in disclosing such information at the hiring stage. For example,in a recent survey conducted, 70 per cent of candidates are not willing to share these data with the hiring department. In my opinion, getting the interests and personal data at the initial stage of hiring is irrelevant and did not find any users with those details in this instance. In conclusion, employers can get details from the resume for those data that the candidate is ready to share, else it is always better to get those details once he or she got selected.