Some people argue that capital punishment is good for a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

One proverbial expression says, “An eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth” which means that the punishment should always be as same degree as the committed crime. Whilst some people view this as beneficial for a country, others see it as injustice and inhumane. In my own perspective, I totally agree with death penalty and the following paragraphs will support my views on the said matter. Nowadays, crime rates are continue to increase because of poverty and food crisis. As observed, murders, rape and other serious crimes are also happening more often now than ever. With capital punishment in place, it helps to reduce crime rate as people get to be aware of the possible consequences of their actions which is death. Back when Philippines had death penalty, people feared lethal injection and “ silia cilia electria ” (electric chair). As a result, crime rates were lower before compared today. Now, after banning the use of capital punishment because of the involvement of the Catholic church, criminals use it as an advantage to do heinous crimes repeatedly as they are aware that they can only get jail time as a consequence. Unfortunately, instead of criminals fearing for their lives now, it is the common people that are scared knowing that their lives are in great danger. Additionally, imposing death penalty is beneficial for the progress of one’s country. It does not only make people discipline but also make the country safer to live in. Like Singapore, it is considered as one of the most safest country that is why people from all over the world come and pay visit. But why do you think it is safe? It is because of their capital punishment. As a result, crime rates are low compared to its other neighbouring countries. Local residents as well as tourists get to travel around the country without fearing for their lives as well as their possessions. In conclusion, I believe that part of a country ’s success and greatness is also making sure that it is safe to live in and has low crime rates. By imposing death penalty, it does not only eliminate criminals but also making people safe. Thus, I totally agree with capital punishment.