It has often been suggested that the reintroduction of capital punishment would deter the ever increasing rate of serious crime. What is your view? Do you think that capital punishment should be reinstated?

It is indeed true that the level of violence has been rising at an alarming rate across the globe. A school of thought suggests that capital punishment will be beneficial to mitigate the number of heinous crimes committed by offenders. This essay will discuss why criminal activities will be reduced through capital punishment. Initially, in terms of extreme penalties, it has been found that they may not reduce the number of atrocities.Sometimes, certain lawless actions are committed unknowingly by innocent people. As a result, the death penalty can not be the right action in such one-off cases. For example, if a person kills somebody in an act of self-defence, capital punishment would be seen as unjust. Such crimes require rehabilitation instead of summary death as a consequence. Additionally, in a country like India, justice is given after long-drawn court cases and it requires excessive time to attain results on the basis of the culprit's offence. Therefore, the death penalty is futile if it is not given almost instantly. However, the rise of violent activities like murder, harassment, acid attacks, child abuse etc, are serious crimes and they require extreme retribution such as hanging the culprit which may proffer awareness to other criminals before committing similar violent acts. For instance, a survey by Times Of India found that a majority of young ones are influenced by watching movies and tv shows and imitating them in real life because serious felonies are glorified in cinema as something that shows the brilliance of people committing them. Hence the consequence has to be as dire as the crime, which is hanging or the electric chair. For example, in Saudi Arabia, the law follows the rule of an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth which is administered regardless of the age and crime done by the perpetrator of the offence. Thus, in this country, a sentence leading to the loss of life of the criminal functions as a detriment for would-be felons. Hence, I would conclude that before a sentence is passed for hanging, the crime has to be categorised as malicious, and the sentence has to be administered quickly in order to keep others from taking recourse to similar heinous actions. Finally, although normal punishments deteriorate the rate of criminal activities, capital punishments also offer the benefits of providing a sense of safety and justice in the world.