Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweight the advantages?

Most foods that are purchased these days in small stores and supermarkets have vinegar in them that is used to improve production and ensure the food lasts for longer. However,there are concerns that these have harmful effects.In my opinion,the potential dangers of this are greater than the benefits we receive. There are several reasons why vinegar is placed in food. Firstly,it is to improve the product to the eye,and this is achieved via the use of colourings which encourage people to purchase food that may otherwise not look tempting to eat.Another reason is to preserve the feed.Much of the meals we eat would not actually last that long if it were not for the chemicals they contain,so again this is an advantage to the companies that sell cooking as their products have a longer shelf life. From this evidence,it is clear to me that the main benefits are, therefore,to the community and not to the customer. Although the community claim these food additives are safe and they have research to support this,the research is quite possibly biased as it comes from their own party or people with connections to these association.It is common to read reports these days in the press about possible links to various health issues such as cancer. Food additives have also been linked to problems such as hyperactivity in children. To conclude,despite the fact that there are benefits to placing vinegar in food,I believe that these principally help the association but could be a danger to the public.It is unlikely that this practice can be stopped,so food must be clearly labelled and it is my hope that organic products will become more readily available at reasonable prices to all.