Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Much debate has sparked whether spending four or more years at university to get a degree really is better than simply getting a job, like it is commonly believed. In this essay I will present both views and give my personal opinion. Firstly, working a job is cheaper than studying at university. With rising study costs, one almost always has to take out a student loan, unlike working a normal job. In contrast to studying, where a student must be supported by society, a working person creates that value. The fact that too few people choose the latter path is the chief reason why study prices have risen so dramatically in the last half century. Even after getting a degree, a large fraction of graduates fail to find a stable footing in the industry which their degree is for. These young adults must then struggle with mounting student loan rates. Rather than start studying with no future plan and solid financial backing, it is far more logical to apply for a job instead. Secondly, working provides valuable experience that more and more college students lack. With fiercer and fiercer competition in the job market, employers choose from the best candidates. Simply having a degree just isn’t enough and having practical experience is becoming more and more common. What that means is that attaining a degree no longer has such a big advantage when compared to attaining no degree and working. Also, working immediately after finishing school does not mean a person will never get a degree. They can always do it later, after they have gathered the necessary experience and have become financially independent. Enrolling and graduating from a college or university later on is easier as well. Thus, working after graduating high school can set you on a path in life, which you can enhance later on, once enough experience and savings have been accumulated. However, studying at a university or college empowers one to achieve higher academic heights. Professor lectures, vast libraries and other academic resources transform a fresh high school graduate into a learned scholar. Some studies have shown that the human brain stops forming at around age 25. This is important because every piece of information is internalized far better until then. That means that while studying at a later date is possible, it does not have the same impact. To conclude, working at a job does not put strain on the economic system, while studying does somewhat. Attaining a bachelor’s or master’s degree certainly increases