The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In order to fulfil the needs of human beings, mother nature has been exploited on daily basis. The rising need for these products results in more damage to the natural environment. This essay will discuss the reason behind it and the ways through which it might be solved. Increasing demand for consumer goods comes at a cost of rising extraction and exploration of natural resources. Since, products like furniture, jewellery, luxury bag, marble, etc. are gifts of mother nature and the excessive demand for them would lead to substantial damage to the environment. Firstly, for example, any kind of jewellery whether it is gold, silver or diamond all extracted through the digging of land. In Surat, where there was the largest gold mine, a huge piece of land is dug and vacated, natural habitat has been disturbed and destructed. Therefore, increasing demand for these products would negatively impact the ecosystem and should be taken care of by taking appropriate measures. Furthermore, with the advancement in technology and science, more alternatives and artificial articles have been in the stage of development in the labs. Hence the shifting of people's interest in artificially developed items might lower the damages caused to the ecosystem. For instance, nowadays, scientists have imitated naturally extracted diamonds and come out with artificial ones. This can not be recognised with the human eye and can only be identified in the labs. Also, the value of such an item is lower than the original one. Likewise, more alternatives could be developed to overcome the issue of damaging habitats. By doing so, such concerns can be resolved. In the conclusion, the need for consumer goods can not be eliminated, instead, we should come out with other similar things which can replace the use of naturally produced goods. In my opinion, people should accept lab-originated items, though it will cost less, and less load on nature.