Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people’s lives and should receive more funding.’ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Journalism is a art of showcasing the world with all the current affairs around the world and examine the impact of that on people. News companies tend to invest a large amount of money to cover international news whereas neglect local news which resonates more with local audience and I completely disagree with this gesture. Developing countries like India, China and Bangladesh are still attracted to foreign nations and try to replicate their culture and way of living. And as we know everything comes with price and this human curosity has led to invest more money to cover international stories. For example, a person living in the rural part of India has more curosity to know about the results of the American presidential elections and tend to keep close eye on the whereabouts of that country. The craze for foreign nations seed has been planted by these news media in the population of these growing nations so that they can act and walk like them. There are many local news channels which do there job faithfully and try to showcase the real news which can make difference in local citizens but they are supported well financially as the viewers are less. Advertisement organisation don't approach these media houses as they have minimal audience attention and that impacts the growth. Furthermore, these local media are not backed by the local government which not only impacts the employment ratio of the country but also deviate citizens from actual problems which can affect their lives. Therefore, it is important for governments to be active in dealing with this situations. Central government should provide subsidies to local news anchors and broadcasters, hire social media influencers to improve viewership of this channels and allocate more fund so that they can display the real picture of what we are than what we want to. To conclude, it is important for governments to take wise measures and educate people to watch more which really matters.