In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Nowadays people go shopping as a hobby, while in the past they only did it as a routine task. I completely agree with the statement and believe that we should be more reasonable these days. We have changed a lot since fifty years ago when it was simpler than now. Customers only bought groceries, when they were out of them, necessary products such as cooking tools and clothes either for work r social events. However, no one did it for fun or with a certain purpose other than the domestic one. Alternatively, people now have become more materialistic than before and everyone is paying a lot more attention to buying clothes, decorations or things that we are not in need of. Another big factor is that some people go to retail threpy, which means that when someone is depressed they do it as a way of fixing their mood. Others go shopping to kill time or out of boredom. My opinion is that it is a negative trend. I do not think that purchasing different products is bad, I just believe that there should be balance in customers actions and choices. Keeping that in mind, I feel it is often even worse to use that activity as a way to fix your problems and anxiety, because it can lead to an addictive behaviour, followed by overspending and getting into loans. For instance, there was this lady, who broke up with her boyfriend, thereby developed an addiction to shopping and everytime she go sad, she bought shoes. In the end, three years later she lost her job, apartment and family. Another factor, because of which I am not keen on going to the shops every day is that with overpopularisation over popularization of fast shopping and its causes on the environment. To conclude my opinion on spending considerate time in shops is negative and only justifies with different reasons, when in reality people do it only but of boredom and depression. On the other hand I do believe that there must be a balance in doing is, so that you do it with pleasure and still not over spend.