Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, the majority of food and drinks are highly processed, containing high levels of hidden sugar, which impacts negatively the population's health. It is thought that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of these manufactured products in order to decrease their consumption. Personally, I partially agree with the previous idea as I think there are better strategies to cope with this tragedy, and this essay will discuss my point of view in the following paragraphs. On one hand, increasing the price of industrial meals might indirectly stop the population from consuming more sugar, as the majority of people will be unable to afford them, therefore, the overall intake will drop, improving their health in the long term. This strategy has proven to be effective in many countries, and an example to illustrate that would be my home country, Morocco, where fast foods and manufactured products cost much more than fresh vegetables and fruits, which explains why most citizens consume local meals instead of transformed ones. However, on the other hand, there are other effective solutions to stop this phenomenon from spreading, such as raising awareness among the youth, as they are the highest consumers of processed foods. Schools should encourage students to consume unprocessed foods by serving healthier options during lunch breaks. Moreover, parents should keep their kids away from sweets by replacing them with fruits and also teach them about the danger of consuming large quantities of candies or chocolate. To illustrate how effective the previous strategy is, I personally grew up in a home where we got used to eating fresh dishes and my parents limited my consumption of sweets to once a week as well. To summarize, I think that making sugary products more expensive might encourage the population to eat less sugar however more solutions need to be put into action at the same time, like raising awareness and being more mindful about our consumption.