Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that these days the experience is the priority to get a well-paid job position, but at the same time we can not underestimate the importance of knowledge. At the outset, the workers need qualifications and knowledge of skills such as literacy and numeracy, as well as knowledge of modern technological systems. There is a number of professions where knowledge plays crucial role. For instance, engineers, teachers, psychologists or doctors need both experience and knowledge to be successful in their careers. Obviously, while certain type of knowledge can be enquired during work experience, it is essential to get a standard education beforehand, especially for such serious professions as medical worker or engineer. On the other hand, as todays’ world is effectively controlled by machines and all vital and crucial data is being stored on digital resources, it gives great opportunities to people to develop their skills manipulating it. As we can see knowledge plays a secondary role to skills and experience. In addition, our modern world demands that companies and institutions have employees with very sophisticated skills not just in technology but in dealing with modern systems and be flexible to changes, as we are living the era of a very fast-moving technological progress. As a consequence, frequently workers’ technological expertise often takes precedence over their basic education. What’s more, companies and organizations can not flourish without hiring workers with necessary experience. In conclusion, despite knowledge still being very important in modern workplaces, it is clear that the advantages of a greater emphasis on job experience outweighs any disadvantages.