As computers translate quicky and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time? To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-growing number of individuals utilising online translation resources to communicate with people who speak other languages. While some individuals reckon learning other languages is wasting time, others argue that it is meaningful to learn foreign dialects. In my opinion, I completely agree with the front argument, and in this essay, I will examine the reasons. First and foremost, people could use the time for learning several languages to develop other interests, such as sports, music and art. Undoubtedly, time is scarce, and we ought to allocate our time to different aspects wisely. Notwithstanding the fact that computer translation is not accurate all the time, it is understandable by those language speakers. Often enough, mutual understanding is the fundamental element of any conversation. Hence, if children are not required to learn other languages at school, they would spend more time in doing exercises or composing songs. In essence, it is beneficial for fostering whole person development amongst children. Furthermore, it is impossible for humans to master more than 5 languages meanwhile. Indeed, ample research has demonstrated that individuals who speak multiple dialects do not imply better communication. On the contrary, these people would encounter barriers in selecting appropriate vocabulary when they start a conversation with others. As a result, it is widely acknowledged that children should not be introduced to more than 3 languages, otherwise their speech development would be put in jeopardy. To summarise, computer translation plays a pivotal part in our daily lives since the technology saved a great deal of time for human-being to manage several languages, including those not well recognised. Resultantly, I agree that humans could make better use of their time if learning foreign languages is not necessary.