In many cities, security measures, such as the use of video cameras in public places, are being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In today's contemporary era, in numerous cities, an increasing number of security cameras are used to control the crime rate. However, some people think it violates their freedom but I think it leads to many benefits as compared to demerits. The first benefit of security cameras is it enforces proper traceability of the criminals. When criminals involved in a crime are recorded on camera, it makes it easy for the local police to trace them and their activities. Moreover, the quality of resolution on such cameras is so high that it leads to no confusion in terms of detecting the criminal. As a result, when these notorious offenders are put behind the bars the rate of crime declines significantly. For instance, because of the sophisticated security systems in high-risk areas like banks and ATMs, the number of criminal activities worldwide has plummeted. There are, however, some individuals who think that these security measures breach their privacy and freedom. They think all their movements are captured on camera and are monitored regularly. Nevertheless, in my opinion, if they are not doing any immoral activity they should not be concerned about it. Instead, these security devices are put in place to record the scene in case of an offence. Because of these innovative systems, the crime rate is under control as offenders are scared of being caught and bearing further consequences. For example, a survey mentioned that because of constant innovations in security systems, the rate of crime is declining every day. In conclusion, the benefits of having modern security systems in keeping a check on illegal activities are indeed too great to ignore. It is very important to minimise crime in the cities in order to live a safe and happy life.