Some locals languages are becoming extinct. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that over the past years, countries have been losing their own languages. I believe it has an upside to communication. On the other,hand it has also a downside to the culture. The following paragraphs will highlight both sides and some relevant examples. First of all, English has become the universal language spoken worldwide. This is a helpful way to communicate between different regions. For example, in a conference which is many foreign, it is easy to only speak in one idiom, instead of having people translate. That improves international businesses such as huge companies, brands, politics, and so on. A lot of information, studies and speeches have been done in English, it can be exemplified with studies about technology in which the major pieces of information are in English. For that reason, local languages have not been spoken as it limits individuals' communication. However, Culture has its importance as it is the identity of the locals. Music, dances and foods, all make part of the community's identification, but the way people speak such as idiom and accent is the most important role in their culture. For instance, it can easily be known by a Brazilian speaking that he is from Brazil and that is what he has the most from his cultural local, even there are other regions that speak Portugues, his accent shows the difference between them. Therefore, languages should be preserved. To conclude, in my opinion, local languages should not be extinct, but it is necessary to know a second language which would be the universal idiom, making it an easier way to communicate.