Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health education and prevention. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Generally, I agree with this statement. Although prevention always comes first in all the aspects of health system, it may not get enough attention. Prevention and education are both important objects in this field which need more attention than the amount each receive now. There is a known statement that said, “an apple a day, keeps doctor away”. In this simple yet profound sentence, we understand the importance and effectiveness of a healthy lifestyle and diet on human’s health. Nowadays governments around the world are paying deep attention on economical status, enhancing national funds, and gaining more respect in terms of power and wealth. Yet they almost forget about how treating chronic illnesses may harm the budget and how efficient it is to nurture health educators. For instance, nurses can play a major role in educating society and preventing diseases as an essential part of the health system. Indeed, one of the most important rules of a nurse is in patients’ and public health education. Anyhow, it is necessary to set an attitude of having healthy lifestyle. It’s included diet, exercise, non-pharmacological ways of stress reduction and maintain a calm mind in daily life. I believe if authorities in health system start to focus on prevention and health education more, treating illnesses especially chronic diseases would take less efforts to deal with. Finally, we can strongly say that we spend way more money on treating illnesses and much less in educating and training the community. Hence, all the governments around the world should change their policy as soon as possible to make better and healthier society in both body and mind.