Air travel causes environmental pollution, so many people believe that there should be an increase in the price of air tickets in order to reduce air traffic. Do you agree or disagree?

With the advances in technology, various means of transportation have been developed and become increasingly accessible, including air travel. However, environmental pollution ensues as the emission of fumes increases, so some people request to increase the price of air tickets to alleviate the pollution problem. In my opinion, this is a sensible solution. Many reasons can support my stance. First, an increase in the price of air tickets deters those who are not wealthy enough to pay. People with lower budget will be forced to choose domestic travels or destinations that require less money. Furthermore, the intention of people travelling is not always pure. More often than not, people visit or travel to other countries because they have seen other people travelling to those places too, whether via social media or personal conversations. Hence, the increase in the price of flight tickets causes those who intend to merely show off to reconsider this. As a proportion of people decides not to travel through planes, the environmental pollution will naturally mitigate. Opponents would argue that the inceasing price of flight tickets would only benefit the airline companies and nothing can be changed. To begin with, many flights are mandatory in businesses, so the number of flights would not decrease even if the price is raised, resulting in merely higher profits for airline companies. However, since the number of flights cannot be reduced whatsoever, we should not take it into consideration. Instead, focusing on decreasing the demand of tourists should be more effective in reducing the usage of airplanes. In conclusion, raising the price of flying tickets is an efficacious method to reduce the usage of planes, leading to the improvement of our environment. Therefore, before more sustainable energy was found, governments should keep the plane tickets expensive.