In many countries, people like to eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh its advantages?

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of individuals who prefer to purchase various agricultural products that are imported from other countries. This scenario has led to a great decline in demand for locally grown food and created other problems. In this essay, I will discuss the disadvantages which have become rife in society. First of all, numerous citizens complained that local produce is way more expensive than imported goods. Owing to the fact that many countries do not charge export tax when they transport their products to other nations, the goods from overseas are cheaper than local ones. Undoubtedly, food with lower prices is always more attractive to customers. Nevertheless, the scenario inevitably hinders the development of local agricultural development which is deemed pivotal to many countries. For example, China was a nation that relied heavily on growing food a few hundred years ago. Nowadays, China has transformed from a farming-based society to an industrial-based society. As a result, it has become reliant on imported food rather than being self-sufficient in the food supply. In essence, it could be detrimental to their world status. Secondly, a famous Economist Peter Anderson demonstrated that importing simply means an outflow of money from one country to another. It is widely acknowledged that a nation's GDP is determined by a few factors including export and import. In this sense, if a country's aggregated import outweighs its export, it could jeopardise a country's economic advancement. Despite the fact that people from a particular district may perform better in operating businesses than in farming, and that results in greater GDP, the outgoings for obtaining food are still of utmost importance for many communities. To summarise, although people might save some money from buying overseas food, this is at the expense of society as a whole. From my point of view, I think that the disadvantages of purchasing food from other countries are notoriously recognised. Despite certain benefits, this issue would undoubtedly endanger a place's economic development.