Employees sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful while others disagree.To what extent do you agree?

Traditions and norms for descriptions of job positions may differ remarkably from country to country. Accordingly to my own experience, I totally disagree, that hobbies and marital status should be asked of a candidate. There are two main reasons for this. First of all, if the search for a new employee is honest and does not contain any primary discrimination, such personal features like interests and family status should not be even considered whilst the decision about hiring will be taken. Regarding my own experience, any company usually wants to find a qualified specialist, not just a good person, who likes to play tennis with his spouse on weekends for example. Had it not been for professionalism, there would have never been any disputes and acute discussions in the workplace. The second argument is that an appropriate length of a resume is incredibly important. Unfortunately, HR managers possibly would have never had enough time for other tasks, if they had to read multiple pages about every candidate. Therefore, all parts of the document, where the applicant presents the information, which is not required directly, or has nothing to do with his working experience, always are seen as time-consuming trash. To summarize, to my mind, candidates should not be discriminated because of the dissimilarity of their hobbies and interests with a decision-making person. Data about family status is suitable to ask only from an employee, not from the job seeker. As shorter and well-written the resume is, the faster an applicant will be processed through the HR flow.