Some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is argued that one of the best solutions to address the issue of traffic problems in cities is by investing more in urban infrastructure; however, some say that the Government should come up with better and sustainable strategies. In this essay, I will outline that infrastructure investment will have a marginal impact on this issue; therefore, a more effective solution can be implemented through decisive Government intervention. Indeed, more infrastructure in urban areas can bring some positive changes. One key reason people travel to the cities is for better employment prospects. For example, the head offices of the Big 4 accounting firms in most countries are in high-rise buildings in the big cities and generally offer higher salary scales than offices in urban areas. Hence, while increased development in these areas may mean more facilities and better public transport, without lucrative and equal paying jobs, people would still travel to the cities looking for higher-paid work. Hence, this does not fully alleviate the traffic congestion in cities. Alternatively, through strict Government regulations, the number of cars traveling to cities can substantially decline. The Government can consider imposing high taxes or surcharges to discourage people from driving to cities. One approach, for instance, can be implementing a pass system with a reasonably high charge that drivers have to pay to take their cars to the cities. Hence, if people find it reasonably uneconomical to pay these extra charges compared to using other means of public transport (such as trains or buses), they will decide against driving their cars to the cities. This will lead to a reduction in cars in cities that cause traffic problems. In conclusion, infrastructure investment will offer some benefits in dealing with this issue to some degree. However, it will not be effective and sustainable unless the Government legislates regulations to control the inherent traffic problem in cities.