Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This essay will examine whether it is a good idea to get reformed prisoners to talk to teenagers, so that they are made aware of the dangers of criminal activities. I agree that it is a good idea to start such a program, as teenagers will have much credible understanding from them regarding crime. Using ex-convicts who have now reformed is a good idea, because it allows them to reintegrate into society, while playing a positive role. This would help the person overcome his past baggage and also give him a new sense of purpose. Generally, people with a criminal background have a lot of problems finding jobs and are forced go back into a life of crime. This would help change the image of people with criminal priors in society and make them more acceptable, while making sure another generation does not fall into this trap. Hence, such a program would be a win-win for society as it would help the reformed citizen reintegrate into society, while helping teenagers in the process. Teenagers these days are exposed to mass-media content where criminal behaviour is romanticized. This is evident from the number of tv-series dramas that are made specifically for this genre and the legendary status that they acquire on Netflix, whether it is Narcos or Ozark. The number of crimes commited by teenagers is also on the rise in many countries. Hence, it is necessary to get ex-convicts who are now reformed to come out and tell the youngsters, what really happens when you commit a crime. The toll that the criminal background of a teen can take on his or her family and future prospects is never given proper coverage in the media. These now reformed citizens would be the ones who would provide the reality of a being a criminal and always being on the run. These are also the people who would have the highest credibility amongst the teenagers, as they would be getting information directly from the horse's mouth. A program like this would be much more beneficial compared to any other adult talking to a teenager regarding the efffect crime can have on his or her life. In conclusion, i agree that reformed ex-convicts would be a good choice to convey to teenagers, what a life of crime entails. This would help the prisoner reintegrate into society, while making sure that teenagers get the right picture regarding crime and not be brainwashed by mass-media content.