Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many high schools make students to get a chance of unpaid community service. Although it is argued that it is not much more as wasting their time, it is my belif that unpaid community service should be a required part of high school. On the one hand, students are only considered by their results. Thus, some parents have thought that all the activitiy except studying is a meaningless thing. Actually, in my experience, our community service time was discontinued because of parents' protests. Everyday they called and yelled at school, the reason is only that it is too wasteful for our kids preparing for the university entrance examination. However, on the other hand, I certainly think that students should be learned a lot of lessons after they have done the unpaid community service. Again, in my experience, it was a great time that I've ever had before. There are several advantages of this activity. Firstly, students can have a caring mind. I also thought of others more without a price after doing volunteer work. Furthermore, it should be a helpful work for the society. When the activity is about to picking up trashes, this can make our homegrounds more clear. I know still there are many parents who do not like these kinds of volunteer activities because of their children's study time. Nevertheless, doing unpaid community service's advantages outweigh disadvantages. It is more important that being a great warm-hearted person than a smarter person. In conclusion, because of these reasons, it seems to me that high schools should be put unpaid community services as a compulsory part of subjects.