The advent of the internet has made it possible for people to work from home.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, with the development of technology, especially the internet, it is possible for people to work online, away from the office. Its disadvantages are undeniable, but I believe that the advantages are far greater. One of the downsides of working from home is that an internet system needs to be installed, which should be powerful enough to support work. However, this is still inaccessible to everyone. Without a strong internet connection, work may be disrupted and negatively affect the output because of the amount of data consumed with every team meeting or data analysis. Another disadvantage of working online is the detrimental aspect to human health. People tend to move less and sit tight to their desk while working from home, whearas at the office, they may walk to another department for a meeting or go to the cafeteria for lunch. Additionally, a reduction of verbal communication with the colleague may increase stress to many. Despite these disadvantages, there are some advantages needed to be acknowledged. Working from home is beneficial, because people can save time and money spent on travelling. For example, when a meeting with an international partner is required, it can be easily carried out without travelling long and far away. Also, the risk of showing up late at work can be reduced, and this may help improving work performance and work satisfaction. Also, people profit from working at home, since the time saved from commuting can be used for doing personal activities, such as doing exercise or laundry, or going shopping for grocery. Then, the life quality is improved and the stress level will go down. To conclude, the internet development provides people with a possibility of working from home. Despite its disadvantages including the bad health effect and the requirement of a powerful internet setting, they are outweighed by the upsides of working online, being time- and money-saving and improving work output and life quality.