The number of students studying science at university is constantly declining. What do you think are the causes? What effects will this have on our society?

A number of students attending the scientific faculties in universities gets lower with every year. I reckon, there are two main reasons for it. Firstly, science is incredibly hard to study. Interesting and captivating though science seems, nevertheless, it has never been supposed as a suitable affair for average minds. It simply not enough to collect multiple facts and read the books, written by ancestors. Work in science requires to be creative and open-minded. Therefore, had it not been the specific attitude, the natural curiosity, and the ability to work immensely hard and with real passion, there would probably has not been any inventions. Secondly, for pragmatic young people, it is quite obvious that scientific career could not be considered as a direct path to the financial stability and wealth. Accordingly, most of the time it is just a lottery, depending on where do you live. In emerging countries, most of scientific programs are sponsored insufficiently. Young scientists will have never gain same wages as their peers, who got degrees in law or computer sciences. As a result, the absence of fresh ideas and innovative approaches would significantly slow down a progress of a mankind. To sum up, in my opinion, fear of failure in the hard field of scientific learning and the lack of investments are the main reasons why the youngsters prefer to earn degrees in other spheres. If neglected, that problem might leads us to the stagnation in medicine, space research, and many other scientific fields playing essential role for future generations.