In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, Governments are incentivizing businesses and industries to invest more in the regional areas and setup up their factories and operations there. In my view, while there are some potential drawbacks of industrialisation of the rural communities, there are far more significant benefits to be gained with this move. On the one hand, the more factories and businesses you have in rural locations, the more pollution and environmental impact it creates. Industries, such as manufacturing companies, provide a large amount of harmful waste that can be discharged into the environment (such as rivers, which are a source of drinking water for many) if a proper environmentally friendly disposal process is not practiced. Furthermore, clearing large forest areas to build substantial industrial parks and factories will endanger wildlife and potentially spoil the pristine natural environment. Hence, the negative environmental impact must be critical when formulating such policies. However, these issues can be mitigated through proper environment impact assessment studies and imposing strict conditions on businesses when they setup up their plants and machinery in these designated areas. In terms of the advantages, serious issues such as growing populations moving to the cities and living in densely populated areas and the related problem it causes (such as traffic congestion and pollution) can be addressed with this proposed solution. More job opportunities can be created in rural areas by building more factories and setting up industries. This will mean that fewer people will move to the big cities looking for better job opportunities and prospects, which will ease the over-crowing problem in some big cities (such as India) and solve pollution and traffic issues. Thus, several Government objectives or policies can be achieved with this action. In conclusion, the Government of the day have a social obligation to their people to develop all parts of the country. As outlined in my essay, the move to industrialise the local areas can bring substantial benefits for all with a sustainable action plan.