Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both vies and give your own opinion.

The curriculum of universities has become a subject of debate in recent years. It is argued that students should be free to study whatever they want while many people consider that universities should confine subjects which are related to science and technology. In my opinion, it is better to let college students learn majors suiting their passion. The essay will analyse both sides of this view to clarify the conclusion. On the one hand, only allowing students to learn useful subjects regarding artificial intelligence and science is supported by many members of society due to the development of these fields. For example, the global technological conglomerates, such as Tik Tok, Facebook and Netflix, have developed rapidly so it moves in tandem with the spectacular demands for labour. It can be seen that studying subjects related to these will help university graduates to find employment easily. However, just a certain number of people have the ability to study these and those, who can not, will find it difficult to gain knowledge and manage hardly to graduate. Thus, this makes it hard to support. On the other hand, some members of the public believe that students should freely choose what major they want to learn because this will create motivation both in studying and working in the future. For instance, a survey in Vietnam showed that almost Vietnamese students consider that learning the subjects they like will help them to focus on their major classes and have opportunities to work in these fields after graduating. It is clear that this motivates students to work hard in a productive way. Therefore, it is necessary for university students to study whatever they want. In conclusion, although many think that confining the curriculum into some useful subjects will benefit college students, I strongly believe that they should be allowed to study anything they like.