Population growth, changing lifestyles, increasing pollution and accelerating urbanization will continue to widen the gap between the demand for water and available supply especially in urban areas, and disproportionately affect informal settlements, where the majority of SSA's urban population resides.

The water crisis has been becoming an issue worldwide. Some people are now suffering from a freshwater shortage in some areas, which triggered some problems in healthcare, political dispute, and humanitarian issues. Nowadays, most water scarcity problems result from decreasing water quality due to increasing pollution as well as rapid economic urbanization with a growing population. Most developed countries have undergone urbanization and population growth, continuing to widen the gap between demand for water and the available supply. With the rapid economic development, there is increasing demand for clean, usable water in households, industries, and agriculture, applying great pressure on the intersection of urban population and water availability. It is projected that the world's urban population will increase from 3.9 billion to 6.3 billion from 2014 to 2050 (DESA, 2015). However, population growth is inconsistent with the socio-economic use of water. Furthermore, this inconsistency could cause a conflict between water supply and demand. Specifically, the relevant investigation shows that an estimated 91% or lower global population had access to clean and drinkable water sources until 2015 (Nganyanyuka, Martinez, Wesselink, Lungo, & Georgiadou, 2014). In addition, water pollution is the other main factor in water shortage, most of which are attributed to inadequate investment in pollution management and environmental protection. In 2017, approximately 80% of wastewater worldwide was directly discharged into water bodies without treatment, leading to poor water quality since domestic and industrial water returned to the source in developing areas was frequently severely contaminated, rendering it not only unacceptable for many uses, but also degrading remaining supplies (Connor et al., 2017). The consequences of insufficient portable water are severe worldwide; hence, some governments and water environment companies are mostly adopting two main methods to alleviate the shortage water impact: optimizing management in water use and developing sanitation in freshwater access. A portion of countries is now trying to change their water resource management to improve their water use efficiency. For example, China's water resource management is exploring market-based approaches as opposed to passively and solely relying on supply-driven measures. These steps could improve countries ' industrial structure and achieve better water use efficiency in accommodation with the developing urbanization (Jiang, 2009). Moreover, coordinated efforts were made across the international countries to improve both drinking water quality and access to sanitation services. For instance, some Asian countries constructed substantial supply stations, rainwater harvesting, and decentralized treatment facilities to ensure water safety last century; however, much progress was erased by population growth simultaneously. But it cannot be denied that these infrastructure measures make a great contribution to helping with water safety. In conclusion, the world is suffering severe water scarcity because of high urbanization progress as well as unmanageable water pollution. Therefore, it is urgent to combine advanced water management and the increasing freshwater infrastructure. Without these immediate actions, a water supply and water pollution crisis of unpredictable aspects will confront economic development, drinking water access, and humanity.