Some people think the primary purpose of schools is to turn the children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

People have different views about the main purpose of schools. While some people believe that schools should focus on professional skills, I believe that helping children to become a person is more important. On the one hand, schools ’ aim should be to prepare children to become successful future employees. children need to gain educational qualifications to pursue a career that has a high salary and insurance. In this way, they can buy their own houses and cars and start a family. For example, in the US, an increase in living costs shows that people need to earn large amounts of money so that they can have a good quality of life. thus, those who have great school grades may have more chances to enrol in university degrees and could face better job opportunities with higher wages. On the other hand, despite the arguments described above, schools have a significant role to help children to create their personalities and to contribute positively to society. To begin with, they teach students some beneficial behaviour such as sharing, tolerance, and discipline. Moreover, they would learn about their responsibilities towards the environment and how to protect natural habitats. Furthermore, educating pupils could involve moral values like showing respect to different cultures and religions. For example, in the UK, secondary schools have some extended programs related to discussing the standards of people’s behaviour in society with students. In conclusion, while I accept that schools should make children ready for their working life, I think their responsibility to provide social skills for students is undeniable.