Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be this case? What could be the advantages of being self-employed?

For years, there has been a significant trend that many employees choose to quit their full-time jobs and work as self-employed. This could happen as the result of the growth of the new generation, while the baby boomers are retiring. The younger generation prefers to work as a freelancer because it poses various benefits to their life. To begin with, the millennial generation is growing rapidly in the workforce while senior workers retire and quit their jobs. Gen-Y or Millennials is a group of people who are well-educated, skilled in Technology, Self-confident, able to multitask and seek challenges, yet work-life balance is of the utmost crucial for them. Thus, even though the company offers high wages, if they have to work like the traditional 9-5 working day, they would rather choose to resign since they think that it is not outweighed their life. In addition, there are considerable advantages to working independently. The first one is flexibility. Workers can choose their own working hours, they don’t have to be strict with any rules. So, they have more time to be with their loved ones or to explore their interests. Furthermore, it has a positive impact on their mental health since it is unnecessary to compete with others or perform hard as much as possible to promote themself like working in an organisation. To summarise, even though the majority of the world's population is employed by companies, in the near future I have a firm conviction that younger people will gently change to be self-employed as there is a dramatic trend in work-life balance and it is beneficial for their health.