In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who desided to do this.

Many young people around the world take a year off between finishing high school and beginning university to travel or to work. Although this can have many advantages like gaining real-life experience, it can also mean falling a year behind academically. In this essay, will discuss what I consider to be the benefits and drawbacks of taking a gap year. To begin with, taking a gap after graduating from high school can be benefical before embarking on university study. Whether it can be travel or work, this would allow young people to be independent and learn about themselves which will also help in carrier choices. For example, travelling allows young people to grow through experiencing and overcoming challenges. Work experience provides lifetime experience like real-life skills that will help to gain theoretical knowledge to the practical knowledge they are going to get at university. Although the work may be irrelevant to future aspirations, learning how to deal with customers, colleagues and taking responsibility are all valuable tools for any student or worker. However, for every positive, there is a negative.One flip side of taking a year gap is falling behind a year academically. This means starting one's university program a year later and thus graduating from university a year later than one's peers. Inspite of that there may be financial drawbacks. Some scholarships, for instance, do not allow students to defer, so the decision to take a year gap might be the loss of the grant, which mean long-term debt. In conclusion taking a year off after high school can bring about significant financial and personal benefits, despite the potential problems in terms of falling behind a year acdemically. As long as an individual is aware of their future direction, a gap year can be extremely rewarding.