In many countries, it is becoming less common for people to look after elderly relatives themselves. Instead, the care is provided by professionals. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nobody would dispute the fact that in many countries it is gradually becoming scarce for family member to look after their elderly relatives especially grandparents. Alternatively, the care centre is provided by well-trained employees. I hold the view that this is a positive development, however, many people disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and give reasons for my opinions. Firstly, most of the opportunities are offering from the city, it may not be the case that everyone is living in a fancy bustling city. In order to get promotions, many of the graduates would choose to leave their hometown and pursue their career goals in the city, which means they will have to leave their parents or elderly at home. It is advised that elderly should be taken care by people to ensure they safety. The best way to do this is to send their parents or elder relatives to the care centre on a daily basis, which they provide a sufficient supervision not only on their well-being also providing nutrition diets that may fulfill their body needs. However, there are those who argue that it shows an irresponsible to their parents where children are the one who should be taking care them unconditionally and should not leave them alone. However, most of their children are oftenly adult who needs to work for living. It may not have sufficient time to company or babysitting their senior relatives and which may cause their life in danger. For instance, children are more likely to lose the job if they were over concentrating in taking care of their elderly family member. In conclusion, although there are some reasonable arguments against whether it is a optimist or pesimist development in sending their elderly relatives to care centre, there can be no doubt that the potential advantages of supervise them in a care centre are far overweigh than disadvantages of leaving them alone in the house. Therefore, government and non-profit organisations should operate more centres like this to help improve the standard quality of life of senior citizens.