In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking in many countries has been increasing day by day, and most countries have imposed a strict ban on public places, like restaurants, hotels, cinemas, etc. This essay agrees with this initiative because it will reduce the effect of second -hand smoke as well as, enable smokers to quit cigarettes. The primary reason why smoking should be a ban in public places is that it will reduce the effects of second -hand smoke, which are usually near smokers. Passive smoking is the transfer of carbon smoke from the smoker to the people in the surrounding, who are non- smokers, which leads to absorptions o in their body, and causes different respiratory and cardiovascular diseases. For example, a survey by American Heart Association showed that passive smokers are four times higher prone to respiratory disease, as compared to people who are not around smokers at all. This shows that the more people smoke in public, the higher non- smokers get affected. Another valid reason which justifies this action is that this will help smokers to quit smoking. It is believed that many people who smoke have to leave public gatherings such as restaurants, sessions, and meetings to go outside the premises and smoke, which leads to making them realize, that they are missing out on something because they have to light up. To illustrates this, in Ireland, there was a 15% reduction in smokers, when the public had to leave the venue to smoke. This shows that people do realize smoking is not always a priority and can be quit. In conclusion, it is extremely important to discourage smoking in public places, as it will affect the health of non- smokers, and also result in a decreasing number of smokers in the country.