Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary era, it is now a topic of debate if there is still a need for the new generation to abide by the old traditions and social norms. Some demand that young people comply with such disciplines, while others prioritize the urge of expressing individuality. Viewed from a general perspective, the essay below will shed light on both views and give explanations why I agree with the second one. On the one hand, it is believed that behaving in accordance with long-standing and time-honored traditions could form a favorable impression on your surrounding people. To begin with, the disciplines and manners within a society are created and handed over by the predecessors to their descendants. As a result, conformity of a young person could be efficacious in linking them with the old by making them feel respected and honored. For instance, whenever young people go on an interview, they are well-advised to be well-groomed with a conventionally formal dress code rather than fashionable ones that belong to the young and new culture. Such an appearance might win the heart of bosses who are usually middle-aged or older. In general, following in our formers’ footsteps could be socially advantageous for us as we could leave initial impressions of being well-behaved and sensible. On the other hand, I strongly opine that only when young people are allowed to behave as distinct individuals can ingenuity and creativity be sustained among humankind. To explain this, young people often have vivid imagination as well as unique approaches towards different aspects. In particular, in his first years in the field, physician Albert Einstein, called into question the theses of the world-renowned Isaac Newton and albeit being criticized, his counterargument was eventually proved right. Supposing the young are forced to follow preceded mindsets and principals, there would never be any Einstein, in other words, the new generation’s ability to think of new ideas would be lost for good due to their adaptation to the imitation of their predecessors. Therefore, all in all, young people should be encouraged to behave to the truest sense of their individuality and traits. In conclusion, although traditional standards of behavior are of importance to some extent, the young should be free to form personal behavioral characteristics. In my opinion, governments and schools ought to incentivise more platforms for youngsters to present and discuss novel ideas that can make positive contributions to society.