In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effect they have in terms of health on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, the beauty products market is on an increasingly profitable rise, even more so those products which lighten a person's skin. There are several factors that contribute to such a phenomenon and some alarming effects that could cause tremendous harm to our society's health. First and foremost, owing to the continuous necessity to fulfil society's latest stereotypes, people consume these products to enhance their beauty. Even more so among the female population, there is a common belief that without such beauty there will be no happiness. For instance, in developed nations people lighten their skin in order to copy the appearance of celebrities, which often worsens their initial look. As a result, more and more women are showing signs of low self-esteem and requiring psychological support. Additionally, individuals use these products because of traditional beliefs that state that white men are meant to be a healthier and higher race in terms of social status, hence affluent individuals will use whatever is available to achieve such a look. For example, recent studies have shown that the whiter young professionals are, the higher the chances they have of acquiring high-paying jobs. Nonetheless, these cosmetic trends could result in some tremendous disorders in regard to people's health. Firstly, one effect could be that whitening one's skin could become addictive and thus significantly alter our mental state of being. If women continue altering the way they look, they could end up suffering from further mental disorders. That is, due to the fact that they will never feel pleased with their own looks, their constant efforts will never be enough. Secondly, another effect could be that such a disturbance in our biology would not only result in dermatologic ailments but also in an increase in the chance of contracting cancer. Famous singer Michel Jackson, for example, whitened his skin over a 10-year period, which brought him all kinds of illnesses and resulted in his early death. Moreover, it has been proven that using too much cream on our skin could bring allergies than did not affect us before. To conclude, in spite of the many factors in the rise of cosmetic whitening products, it is paramount that people understand the pressing drawbacks that these could bring to society's health.