Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that high school students should be involved in unpaid community service as a mandatory part of high school programmes. Many collages are offering voluntary services, however they are not compulsory, in my opinion, it is a good idea to make community services mandatory as it will offer lot of real time learning to the adolescents. Firstly, team work and coordination skills are required for any community services, hence involving students will help them to learn these skills in the school days, moreover they will develop leadership skills also. For example, teacher gives them one task of spreading awareness of cleanliness in a town, so they will have to prepare handouts or banners, in addition some speech and tagline preparation is also required, of course all these preparation require lot of planning and coordination, thus pupils will learn it while executing the task. Secondly, social services will inculcate the sense of responsibility in adolescents towards the society and they will evolve the mind-set of helping and caring which will make them better citizens of this global village. To exemplify, involving them in any fund raising activity for needy people will aid them to understands the obligations of rich towards poor ones and hold their hands in the difficult time, thus minimizing the financial gap and spreading equality. Moreover, by involving them in teaching sports to younger children will develop their ability in the leadership skills and teaching skills. To conclude, mandatory community services for teenagers is advantageous as students will learn various skills like team work, coordination, leadership, also in addition they will implant sense of responsibility towards the community thus benefitting the society as a whole.