Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that high school students should be involved in unpaid community service as a mandatory part of high school programmes. Many colleges are offering voluntary services, nevertheless, they are not compulsory, in my opinion, it is a good idea to make community services mandatory as it will offer a lot of real-time learning to adolescents. Firstly, teamwork and coordination skills are required for any community service, hence involving students will help them to learn these skills in school days, moreover, they will develop leadership skills also. For example, a teacher gives them one task of spreading awareness of cleanliness in a town, so they will have to prepare handouts or banners, plus, some speech and tagline preparation is also required, of,course all this preparation requires a lot of planning and coordination, so pupils will learn it while executing the task. Secondly, social services will inculcate a sense of responsibility in adolescents towards society and they will evolve the mindset of helping and caring which will make them better citizens of this global village. For example, involving them in any fundraising activity for needy people will aid them to understand the obligations of the rich towards poor ones and hold their hands in difficult times, accordingly minimizing the financial gap and spreading equality. Furthermore, involving them in teaching sports to younger children will develop their ability in leadership skills and teaching skills. To conclude, mandatory community services for teenagers are advantageous as students will learn various skills like teamwork, coordination, and leadership, similarly, they will implant a sense of responsibility towards the community consequently benefitting society as a whole.